Auto Insurance Laws in Texas – As a resident of the Lone Star State, you must have auto insurance and purchase coverage before registering your vehicle. Insurance can also vary by city.
Teen Driving Laws in Texas
Young drivers want to hit the road and experience the freedom of driving for the first time in their lives. To ensure everyone’s road safety, it’s important to know the laws for new drivers in Texas.
New drivers can apply for their learner’s license when they turn 15 years old, and then a temporary license at age 16 after they have completed driver’s education, passed the Texas Teen Driver Course, earned a passing grade in driving test and held a learner’s license for at least six months. When the driver turns 18, all restrictions are lifted. You can learn more about young drivers in Texas here.
Minimum insurance requirements for Texas
When purchasing auto insurance coverage in Texas, you will need at least the minimum amount required by the state: $25,000/$50,000/$25,000. If an accident happens, you get $25,000 of bodily injury coverage for one person per accident, $50,000 of bodily injury coverage for two or more people per accident, and $25,000 of property damage coverage per accident.
As a Texas resident, there are two types of liability coverage your insurance policy must include: property damage and bodily injury.
- Property damage protects your assets if you are found legally responsible for a covered accident. It covers certain damages that you could cause to the property or vehicle of a third party.
- Bodily Injury protects your assets if you are found legally responsible for a covered accident, including certain expenses associated with bodily injury suffered by other parties.
Liability coverage also provides you with legal defense if you are sued as a result of a covered accident.
Optional Insurance Coverages in Texas
It’s often a good idea to add the following coverages to your policy so you can take advantage of the security of being protected on the road:
This type of Texas auto insurance coverage is use to repair your vehicle when physical damage occurs from non-collision incidents (subject to the deductible). Such incidents include theft, fire, vandalism, glass breakage and contact with animals.
Collision coverage is use to repair your vehicle when it is damage due to collision with another vehicle or object (subject to deductible).
It protects you in the event of an accident where the other party is at fault and they do not have insurance or their insurance limits are insufficient to reimburse the damages caused.
Property Damage protects you if you are in an accident, and the other party is responsible and has no or insufficient insurance to cover damage to your vehicle and other covered property (subject to deductible).
Bodily Injury can protect you if you are in an accident, and the other party is at fault and does not have insurance or their insurance limits do not allow you to be compensated for bodily injury-related damages.
What factors affect your auto insurance rate?
Some auto insurance qualifying factors, like your driving history, can have a big impact on your insurance costs. The most common rating factors used to determine a high or low risk driver are described below.
The type of car you have can affect your auto insurance rate. This will include the safety features of the car, the year and make, the age and ownership of the vehicle, and its repair cost.
Your place of residence
Auto insurance rates vary by state and zip code. Each state has its own rules and requirements for insurance coverage.
Your demographic data, such as age, gender, marital status, credit score and profession, can affect your rate.
Your driving history would include your driving record, how much you drive, and years of driving experience.
What can increase my auto insurance rate?
When you find the right coverage, remember the factors that can increase your rate.
Traffic violations include minor and major offenses such as speeding tickets, careless driving, and driving under the influence of alcohol (DUI).
At-fault accidents that result in major insurance claims can affect your premium.
Inclusion of another driver to your policy
If someone else drives your car, you should add that person to your policy. His driving record could increase your insurance rate.
Lapse in insurance
A lapse in auto insurance occurs when you have a registered car, but no auto insurance. In many states, if you drive without car insurance, you could become a high-risk driver when you purchase car insurance.